“IN CONCERT” by Alexis Rhone Fancher


the couple sitting in front of us
got up abruptly, moved down an entire
row to vacant seats.
die-hard Madeline Peyroux fans, he said.
why? was I loud?
you were an asshole.
really?
yeah, you kept talking, and hooped and
hollered after every song.
I love her. I’m enthusiastic, I said.
you were an asshole, he insisted.
yeah? well, you shouldn’t have given me that
4th vodka rocks, I said.
I don’t remember pouring it down your
throat.
you twisted my arm.
maybe. but you were the asshole.
really?
mmmm.
did I embarrass you?
no. I’m with you, baby.
thanks.
for what?
for loving me when I’m
an asshole.
de rien, cherie, he said.
All Rights Reserved
© 2010

About lkthayer

actor/writer/designer/poet
This entry was posted in Guest Squeeze, Photo, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “IN CONCERT” by Alexis Rhone Fancher

  1. lkthayer says:

    This is magnificent, such poetry & truth without being poetic. Like life…brava! :)

  2. vicki bjornson says:

    how true, how true. beautifully written

  3. Adesh Kaur says:

    Great poem, Alexis! I LOVE the ending. You nailed it, baby.

  4. Linda Bishop says:

    This struck a chord with me. One of the greatest lessons I try to teach my 15 year old son is to learn to forgive the ones you love. We all must do it again and again in life. And when you can’t do it any more, the relationship is over and only the pain of remembered cuts remain.

  5. victoria says:

    ah, unconditional love….that’s what we all need and want…..lucky u!

  6. Charlottini says:

    That is LOVE. Truth, and forgiveness!

  7. Yolanda says:

    Been in that predicament before. It’s nice to be forgiven for our flaws.

Leave a Reply

