“The Lemon Tree” by Vicki Batkin

I opened my front door
And saw a lemon tree
In all it’s glory
It breathes life
I fell in love

I will love this lemon tree
After the valiant blossoming
Is over
I will love this lemon tree
After the leaves have fallen
I will love this lemon tree
When it becomes frail

The moon is coming
In a little while
I will fall asleep
And
Wake up to my new lemon tree

Maybe
I’ll pick the first lemon
Maybe I won’t
Maybe
I’ll just sit
By the lemon tree
And talk
About the small things
That happened
In my day

Vicki Batkin

© 2011

About lkthayer

actor/writer/designer/poet
This entry was posted in Guest Squeeze, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “The Lemon Tree” by Vicki Batkin

  1. lkthayer says:

    You know I love this poem Vicki! A perfect Juice Bar squeeze!!
    Simple & full of meaning…bravo!

  2. Roz Levine says:

    Thank goodness for Vicki and her lemon tree feast. May I use a few if I have to make lemonade?
    xoxo
    Roz

  3. Alexis Rhone Fancher says:

    Simply lovely.

  4. kay says:

    Vicki… love this….

  5. Julie says:

    Love it…over and over again.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

